Skip To Content
Social Emotional Learning
Welcome NLPS Students and Families, 

During this time of Extended School Closure, New London Public Schools Support Staff Team continue to provide social, emotional, and mental health needs to all students.  Our staff consists of Psychologists, Social Workers, School Counselors, and Wellness Staff that can assist families with a range of concerns including access to food, addiction interventions, housing concerns, coping skills, and emotional problems such as anxiety and depression.

Week of June 15th - June 19th

  • Students in grades PreK-5 will continue to have access to social emotional learning activities through their assigned Seesaw classroom. Please continue to encourage your child to watch these fun videos and participate in the activities that help them learn to cope and manage their emotions during distance learning. 

  • Students in grades 6-12 will also continue to access social emotional learning activities through their School Counselor’s Google Classroom. These lessons and posts continue to be optional but provide a resource for social and mental health support.  In addition, both schools are hosting Zoom meetings for students who want to discuss their emotions during this challenging time. Please refer to the Google Classrooms for times/days.

  • All families are encouraged to check our section of the website Student and Family Resources for Support to access resources for housing, food, and mental health CLICK HERE. It is updated frequently so please check back often!

  • Any family or student in need is also encouraged to reach out directly for support.  There are various ways to access school staff for behavioral or mental health needs including the contacts listed here, the Social and Emotional Support link here, or by contacting Carrie Rivera at 860-625-4723  riverac@newlondon.org.


In addition to individualized supports, Social-Emotional Learning continues to be available to all K-12  students via online learning platforms.  Especially during these potentially stressful and difficult times, it is important for all students to continue to participate in these lessons to build resilience and a toolbox of coping skills.

Elementary students have access to lessons, videos, and activities through SeeSaw. These classrooms are led by school-based Support Staff and can help to support behavioral and emotional development during these challenging times.  Examples of resources available through SeeSaw include Second Step (https://www.secondstep.org/) videos, Mindfulness exercises, and links to coping strategies. Students that receive direct counseling services continue to be supported through virtual communication methods, such as Zoom.  In addition, any student or family that is having difficulty can contact their designated school staff listed below for additional supports. 

Secondary students are able to access Social-Emotional Learning through their assigned School Counselor’s Google Classroom.  Examples of activities posted in the Google Classroom includes videos, lessons, resources, and links to social/emotional supports. Students requiring more intensive counseling services are encouraged to contact their School Counselor or additional building-based Support Staff listed below.

For weekly updates, please refer to Weekly Family Letters posted below.

School

Name

Role

Email/Contact

Central Office

Carrie Rivera

School Psychologist Department Head

riverac@newlondon.org

860-625-4723

CB Jennings International Elementary Magnet School

Gloria Rodriguez

Social Worker

rodriguezg@newlondon.org

Joe Fallacaro

School Psychologist

fallacaroj@newlondon.org

Ninon Guinassi

Wellness

guinassin@newlondon.org

Hector Aquino

Wellness

aquinoh@newlondon.org

Winthrop STEM Elementary School

Kristina Ciotto

Social Worker

ciottok@newlondon.org

Chelsey Green

School Psychologist

greenc@newlondon.org

Rachel Newer

Social Worker

newerr@newlondon.org

Nathan Hale Arts Magnet School

Rebecca Wilcox

School Psychologist

wilcoxr@newlondon.org

Cheryl Potter

Social Worker

potterc@newlondon.org

Patrick

Wellness

 

Harbor Elementary School

Brogen Olsen

School Psychologist

olsenb@newlondon.org

Marc Tardiff

Social Worker

tardiffm@newlondon.org

Shanelle Philistin

Wellness Interventionist

philistins@newlondon.org

BDJ Multi-Magnet Middle School Campus

Karyn Hester

School Psychologist

hesterk@newlondon.org

Jamie Irwin

Social Worker

irwinj@newlondon.org

Amy Griffin

Social Worker

griffina@newlondon.org

Tariko Satterfield

Wellness

satterfieldt@newlondon.org

Kayla Montalvo

School Counselor

montalvok@newlondon.org

Kim Molina

School Counselor

molinak@newlondon.org

Tedman Martinez

School Counselor

martinezt@newlondon.org

NLHS Multi-Magnet Campus

Yarimar Ortiz-Frontera

School Psychologist

Ortiz-fronteray@newlondon.org

Sarah Kadden

Social Worker

kaddens@newlondon.org

Rosa Maria Lemus

School Counselor Department Chair

lemusr@newlondon.org

Jennifer Occhionero

School Counselor

occhioneroj@newlondon.org

Kasimu Fletcher

School Counselor

fletcherk@newlondon.org

Jennie Levin

School Counselor

levinj@newlondon.org

Amanda Ahlcrona

School Counselor

ahlcronaa@newlondon.org

Laura Sangster

Senior College and Career Counselor

sangsterl@newlondon.org

Meg Mahon

College Counselor

mahonm@newlondon.org

Dave Richardson

Wellness Interventionist

richardsond@newlondon.org

Chuck Potter

Behavioral Specialist

potterch@newlondon.org

 

Weekly Family Letters

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2020 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.