Skip To Content
Support Services/Special Education

Special Education Services:

Families are encouraged to seek information and support through the Connecticut State Department of Education’s:


COVID-19: Resources for Families and Educators 

https://portal.ct.gov/SDE/COVID19/COVID-19-Resources-for-Families-and-Educators 

 

Special Education Guidance and Resources for COVID-19

https://portal.ct.gov/sde-specialedcoronavirus


Week of June 15th - June 19th

 

Elementary (PK-5Special Education 

Dear Students and Families of New London Public Schools,  

  • Students will continue to receive ELA/Math and Science from their classroom teachers and special education teacher based on their learning needs.
  • Students will have the opportunity to work with paraeducators on the See Saw Platform with their special education teachers.
  • PPT’s have started.
  • Students and teachers have been using the TEAMS platform for small group “live” instruction.

If you have any questions, comments, or concerns, please feel free to contact me at: 

fentressk@newlondon.org or 860-938-2211 

 

Stay Safe and Healthy 

Kim Fentress 

Supervisor of Special Education PK-5 

 

  •  

 

PPT Meetings

At this time NLPS will not being holding PPT meetings based on guidance from our state and federal governments. You will be notified when we resume. Until that time all current IEP’s will stay in effect. 

Listed below by area is how we will be providing interim alternative learning opportunities for students who qualify for Special Education and/or 504 Services.


Special Education Classes

If your child receives services from a special education teacher, you will be receiving a separate letter that will explain in detail how to access curriculum and materials.  In addition, special education teachers will be working in collaboration with the classroom teachers and various other support staff to continue providing support for all students. If you have questions, please contact:


Valerie Kelsey – Executive Director of School and Family Support Services

KelseyV@newlondon.org

Kim Fentress – Elementary Special Education Supervisor   FentressK@newlondon.org

Erika Bammerlin – Secondary Special Education Supervisor   BammerlinE@newlondon.org

________________________________________________________________________________________________

Speech and Language 

Each of our speech and language therapists will be directly in touch with each family to discuss how they might provide distance learning speech and language activities. This will be done on an individual basis.

Renee C. Lacourciere  |  Bennie Dover Jackson Middle School

lacourcierer@newlondon.org

 

Darlene Stefanski  |  New London High School 

stefanskid@newlondon.org

 

Sabrina Hosmer & Marcia Winkler |  Jennings Elementary School

sabrina@spryspeech.com

Winklerm@newlondon.org

 

Chandra Grisanty |  Nathan Hale Elementary School

Grisantyc@newlondon.org

 

Susan Schlank |  ISAAC

Schlanks@newlondon.org

 

Kate Gray (K-5) & Alexa Cox (Pre-K)  |  Harbor Elementary School

GrayK@newlondon.org

CoxA@newlondon.org

 

Paige True  |  Winthrop Elementary School

Truep@newlondon.org

 

Lisa Hellen  |  Winthrop/Nathan Hale  Elementary School

hellenl@newlondon.org

 

Ursula Tarazona, Bilingual SLPA

All district schools

________________________________________________________________________________________________

School Counseling

If your child receives in school counseling services, a school psychologist or social worker will be contacting each family directly to design an individualized plan for continued support, if they haven't done so already.

Central Office

Carrie Rivera, School Psychologist Department Head, riverac@newlondon.org

 

Winthrop STEM Elementary School

Kristina Ciotto, Social Worker, ciottok@newlondon.org

Chelsey Green, School Psychologist, greenc@newlondon.org

Rachel Newer, Social Worker,   newerr@newlondon.org

 

CB Jennings International Elementary Magnet

Joseph Fallacaro, School Psychologist, fallacaroj@newlondon.org

Gloria Rodriguez, Social Worker, rodriguezg@newlondon.org

 

Nathan Hale Arts Magnet School

Rebecca Wilcox, School Psychologist wilcoxr@newlondon.org

Cheryl Potter, Social Worker potterc@newlondon.org

 

Harbor Elementary School

Brogen Olsen, School Psychologist, olsenb@newlondon.org

Marc Tardiff, Social Worker tardiffm@newlondon.org

 

BDJ Multi-Magnet Middle School Campus

Karyn Hester, School Psychologist hesterk@newlondon.org

Jamie Irwin, Social Worker irwinj@newlondon.org

Amy Griffin, Social Worker griffina@newlondon.org

 

NLHS Multi-Magnet Campus

Yarimar Ortiz-Frontera, School Psychologist Ortiz-fronteray@newlondon.org

Sarah Kadden, Social Worker, kaddens@newlondon.org

________________________________________________________________________________________________

School Counselors
 
Our School Counselors have been reaching out to students and families and are available by email for assistance with grades, transcripts, scholarships, applications, resource links and other related services that students have.  Please see below for your counselors contact information.
 
High School Counselors
 
Department Chair, Rosa Maria Lemus: LemusR@newlondon.org
Jennifer Occhionero: Occhioneroj@newlondon.org
Kasimu Fletcher: FletcherK@newlondon.org
Jennie Levine: LevinJ@newlondon.org
Amanda Ahlcrona: AhlcronaA@newlondon.org
Laura Sangster: SangsterL@newlondon.org
 
 
Middle School Counselors
 
Tedman Martinez: MartinezT@newlondon.org
Kimberly Molina: MolinaK@newlondon.org
Kayla Montalvo: MontalvoK@newlondon.org

BCBA support

Our BCBA’s will be working directly with the special education teacher they are assigned to help them provide ongoing support to the student and family.

_____________________________________________________________________________________

Occupational Therapy/Physical Therapy

Each OT and OTA, PT and PTA will be in direct contact with each student's family, as well as the student’s classroom teacher, to determine ongoing supports.

Brianna Nadeau: bnadeau@learn.k12.ct.us

Kyle Choisy: kchoisy@learn.k12.ct.us

Coleen Sutherland: csutherland@learn.k12.ct.us

Mary Banks: mbanks@thefriendshipschool.org

Nicole Roberts: nroberts@learn.k12.ct.us

Jacqueline Ingham:

Krisa Verno:  kverno@learn.k12.ct.us

Debra Norman: dnorman@learn.k12.ct.us

Joel Reinholtz: jreinholtz@learn.k12.ct.us

Kathy Bellas: kbellas@learn.k12.ct.us

Amy Lequire: alequire@learn.k12.ct.us

_______________________________________________________________________________________________

504 Students 

At this time NLPS will not being holding 504 meetings based on guidance from our state and federal governments. You will be notified when we resume. Until that time all current 504 plans will stay in effect.

Each personnel assigned as the 504 case manager will be in contact with families to discuss supports. They additionally will be working with classroom teachers on accommodations for classwork. If you have general questions, please contact: 

Hillary Parzych   -   parzych@newlondon.org

_____________________________________________________________________________________

There are a multitude of resources available. This department has asked our individual teachers and support personnel to share appropriate resources specific to their students. Below is one general resource link that parents may find helpful.

Curated resources for those working with individuals who have developmental disabilities. - https://www.smore.com/udqm2-covid-19-preparedness?

Weekly Family Letters

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2020 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.